Anyone convicted of two or more alcohol or drug offenses within ten years may be required by the D.D.S. to complete an alcohol and drug abuse evaluation which can only be done by a state approved clinical evaluator.
A judge has the ability to mandate any offender to complete a substance abuse evaluation. These requirements are usually written in the probation contract. You may be required to complete a substance abuse counseling program as a condition of probation as well.
We will provide you with a list of approved evaluators and can make arrangements for your evaluation at the location of your choice, including all of our offices. These are done by appointment only.
Defensive driving class is mandated for traffic offenses that do not involve alcohol or drugs including super speeder, reduction of points and other serious traffic offenses that require a defensive driving certificate. Please contact the D.D.S. for your specific requirements.
There are two components of this course, first everyone completes the computer-based assessment questions prior to attending the class. The next step is to attend the 20-hour intervention course. The assessment can be completed at all of our offices without an appointment.
The class consists of 20 hours of alcohol and drug abuse education as required by Georgia Law. The curriculum is Prime for Life ® from Prevention Research Institute and is the only approved curriculum allowed by Georgia law.
The program assists clients to better understand how high-risk choices can cause impairment and health problems and how to reduce the risk of future problems.
Melton's Driver Improvement Schools
Contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services at 1 866-754-3687 or their web service at